Different LightI’ve been actively listening to music for 35 years, have seen styles and trends come and go, beginning with a narrow focus (listening to Casey Kasem’s American Top 40 with my sisters in the disco age) and widening my horizons many times based on my own changing tastes and exposure to the knowledge and insights of so many friends. Now, I’ll listen to just about any kind of music and prize diversity and variety above all else. But still, I’ve been known to get stuck in a groove and become obsessed with certain albums, listening the hell out of them for weeks straight. I don’t even know where these albums stand in the grand scheme of things, if they’re critically acclaimed or cult classics… some of them you may never have even heard of; I just know that, for whatever reason, at some time in my life, they spoke to me in deep, meaningful ways. In writing them down, the urge to listen to them again hits me hard; I still love them.

  • The Bangles     Different Light
  • Bootsauce     The Brown Album
  • Boston     s/t
  • Edie Brickell & New Bohemians     Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars
  • Concrete Blonde     Free
  • Cutting Crew     Broadcast
  • Faith No More     The Real Thing
  • Happy Mondays     Pills ‘n’ Thrills and Bellyaches
  • INXS     Kick
  • k.d. lang     Absolute Torch and Twang
  • Living Colour     Vivid
  • Lyle Lovett     Lyle Lovett and His Large Band
  • National Velvet     s/t
  • Robert Palmer     Riptide
  • Sam Phillips     The Indescribable Wow
  • Pop Will Eat Itself     This Is the Day… This Is the Hour… This Is This!
  • The Proclaimers     Sunshine on Leith
  • Feargal Sharkey     s/t
  • Sons of Freedom     s/t
  • T’pau     s/t
  • Voice of the Beehive     Let It Bee
