Guantanamo BayWith President Barack Obama recently losing a vote on a bill in Congress which would have seen Guantanamo terror suspects transferred to prisons in the continental U.S., surprising news has emerged that the detainees themselves, including the so-called “worst of the worst”, are reluctant to make the move to mainland prisons.  Although getting any information from detainees is difficult, the few that have access to lawyers have made their preference clear: “Please don’t put us in American prisons.”  June Fremantle, the court-appointed defense attorney for Ali Muhammad al-Maliky, who has been detained since January 2002, released this statement from her client: “I grew up in Beirut during the worst of the fighting.  Times were hard.  I watched my parents killed by a bomb that destroyed our home, and my brother murdered in front of my eyes.  Since I was captured and brought to Guantanamo, I have been tortured on and off for six years, and have had no access to normal human contact.  But the thought of going to an American prison truly frightens me.  I’ve seen Oz.”  Other prisoners agree, citing fears of anal rape, riots, and “shivs” (knives fashioned from spoons). Al-Maliky concludes, “At least here all of the prisoners are on the same side.  Here, I feel safe.”

